By continuing to use this website, you agree to the use of cookies in order to offer you content and services that are tailored to your interests.

En savoir plus et gérer ces paramètres[OK]

Festivals & events

23 May 2005 à 13:02

Six years after "Rosetta," the Dardenne brothers win their second Palme d'Or for "The Child"

"The Child" ("L'Enfant") by Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, starring Jérémie Rénier and Deborah François, has won the top honor at the 58th Cannes International Film Festival.

The Belgian brothers join the ranks of other filmmakers who have twice been honored with the Palme d'Or: the Danish director Bille August, the American director Francis Ford Coppola, the Japanese director Shohei Imamura and... Emir Kusturica, President of the Jury, who announced this year's award winners Saturday evening.

"Hidden" ("Caché") by Michael Haneke picked up the award for Best Director as well as the International Film Critics' Federation Prize (FIPRESCI) and the Ecumenical Jury Prize.

"The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada," co-produced by EuropaCorp, received the awards for Best Screenplay and Best Actor.
An Honorary Palme was presented to Catherine Deneuve.

Cannes 2005 complete awards list:

Palme d'Or
"L' Enfant" ("The Child") by Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne

Grand Prize
"Broken Flowers" by Jim Jarmusch

Best Actor
Tommy Lee Jones for his performance in his film "The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada"

Best Actress
Hanna Laslo in "Free Zone" by Amos Gitai

Jury Prize
"Shanghai Dreams" by Xiaoshuai Wang

Best Direction
"Caché" ("Hidden") by Michael Haneke

Best Screenplay
Guillermo Arriaga for "The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada " by Tommy Lee Jones

Camera d'Or Jointly awarded to:
"Me and You and Everyone We Know" by Miranda July and "The Forsaken Land" by Vimukthi Jayasundara

Palme d'Or for Best Short Film
"Podorozhni" ("Wayfarers") directed by Igor Strembitskyy

Jury Special Mention for a Short Film
"Clara" by Van Sowerwine

The jury of the Advanced Technical Image and Sound Commission unanimously awarded the two Vulcain Artist-Technician Prizes to:
Leslie Shatz for the sound design for "Last Days"
Robert Rodriguez for the visual treatment of "Sin City"

Prizes awarded outside the Official Competition

Festival Trophy
Awarded to the actor Morgan Freeman and the director George Lucas
An Honorary Palme was awarded to the French actress Catherine Deneuve in honor of her acting career.

International Critics' Prize
Official Competition: "Caché" ("Hidden") by Michael Haneke
Un Certain Regard: "Sangre" by Amat Escalante
International Critics' Week: "Crying Fist" by Seung-wan Ryoo

Un Certain Regard Awards
"Death of Mr. Lazarescu" by Cristi Puiu
Intimacy Award: "Le Filmeur" by Alain Cavalier
Hope Award: "Lève-toi et marche" ("Delwende") by S. Pierre Yameogo

Directors' Fortnight
CICAE (International Federation of Art Cinemas) "Art et Essai" Award: "Sisters in Law" by Kim Longinotto and Florence Ayisi
Europa Cinemas Label Award: "La Moustache" by Emmanuel Carrère
"Regards Jeunes" Award: "Alice" by Marco Martins
"Cinémas de Recherche" Special Mention: "Odete" by Joao Pedro Rodrigues
SACD Short Film Award: "Du soleil en hiver" by Samuel Collardey
Gras Savoye Short Film Award: "A bras le corps" by Katell Quillévéré

International Critics' Week
Grand Prize: "Me and You and Everyone We Know" by Miranda July
SACD Award: "A Stranger of Mine" by Uchida Kenji and "La Petite Jérusalem" ("Little Jerusalem") by Karin Albou
ACID Award: "Grain in Ear "by Zhang Lu
Canal + Grand Prize for Best Short Film: "Jona/Tomberry" by Rosto

François Chalais Prize
"Quando sei nato non puoi più nasconderti" ("Once You're Born") by Marco Tullio Giordana

National Education Prize
"Cinema, aspirinas e urubus" by Marcelo Gomez

Youth Prize
"Cidade Baixa" ("Lower City") by Sérgio Machado

Cinéfondation Awards
1st Prize: "Buy It Now" by Antonio Campos
2nd Prize (jointly awarded): "Vdvoyom (à deux)" by Nikolay Khomeriki and "Bikur Holim" ("Visiting Hours") by Maya Dreifuss
3rd Prize (jointly awarded): "La Plaine" by Roland Edzard and "Be Quiet" by Sameh Zoabi

Ecumenical Jury Prize
"Caché" ("Hidden") by Michael Haneke
Special Mention: "Lève-toi et marche" ("Delwende") by S. Pierre Yameogo

"Carosse d'Or" from the Film Directors' Society
Awarded to the Senegalese director Ousmane Sembene

France-Culture Prizes
French Filmmakers Category: "Avanim" by Raphaël Nadjari
Foreign Filmmakers Category: "Damnation" by Béla Tarr

Author : Communications

Latest update : 23 April 2009 à 13:02 CEST

Linked to this news article

Linked films (7)

Linked individuals (14)

Related companies (2)



Activities :  Film exports/foreign sales, Co-production, French distribution , Executive Producer

Recent filmography : Dancing On, A Mermaid in Paris, Anna, ...

Linked events (1)


Cannes International Film Festival - 1997

Type : Feature film and short film festival

Theme : International festival