By continuing to use this website, you agree to the use of cookies in order to offer you content and services that are tailored to your interests.

En savoir plus et gérer ces paramètres[OK]

Festivals & events

30 December 2011 à 16:23

2012 Lumiere Awards lineup

The 17th Lumiere Awards ceremony will take place January 13, 2012, at 8 p.m. in the Paris City Hall's grand reception rooms.

The Lumiere Awards are France's equivalent to the Golden Globes, presented each year by foreign press correspondents based in Paris. Once again this year, the Lumiere Awards mark the start to the film awards season, honoring the most outstanding work in French and French-language filmmaking from 2011.

The following awards are presented in tribute to the most talented artists of the year: Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actress, Best Actor, Most Promising Actress, and Most Promising Actor.

The Lumiere Awards also include the TV5Monde Prize for Best French-Language Film hailing from a country outside France, as well as the CST Award for Most Outstanding Cinematographer of 2011.

The winners will receive their awards at a prestigious ceremony held in the Paris City Hall's grand reception rooms, in the presence of foreign media correspondents and movie industry personalities.

This ceremony is also held as part of the Rendez-vous with French Cinema in Paris organized by uniFrance Films for members of the international press.

2012 Nominees:

Best Film
House of Pleasure - Bertrand Bonello
The Artist - Michel Hazanavicius
The Minister - Pierre Schoeller
The Havre - Aki Kaurismäki
The Untouchable - Eric Toledano and Olivier Nakache

Best Director
Bertrand Bonello - House of Tolerance
Michel Hazanavicius - The Artist
Maïwenn - Poliss
Aki Kaurismäki - Le Havre
Pierre Schoeller - The Minister

Best Screenplay
Bertrand Bonello - House of Tolerance
Robert Guédiguian and Jean-Louis Milesi - The Snows of Kilimanjaro
Michel Hazanavicius - The Artist
Maïwenn and Emmanuelle Bercot - Poliss
Pierre Schoeller - The Minister

Best Actress
Bérénice Béjo - The Artist
Catherine Deneuve and Chiara Mastroianni - Beloved by Christophe Honoré
Valérie Donzelli - Declaration of War by Valérie Donzelli
Marina Fois and Karin Viard - Poliss
Clotilde Hesme - Angèle and Tony by Alix Delaporte

Best Actor
Jean Dujardin - The Artist
Olivier Gourmet - The Minister
Joey Starr - Poliss
Omar Sy - Untouchable

Most Promising Actress
Alice Barnole - House of Tolerance
Adèle Haenel - House of Tolerance
Zoé Héran - Tomboy by Céline Sciamma
Céline Sallette – House of Tolerance
Anamaria Valtoromei - Little Princess by Eva Ionesco

Most Promising Actor
Grégory Gadebois - Angèle and Tony
Guillaume Gouix - Jimmy Rivière by Teddy Lussi-Modeste
Raphaël Ferret - Guilty by Vincent Garenq
Denis Ménochet - Les Adoptés by Mélanie Laurent
Mahmoud Shalaby - Free Men by Ismaël Ferroukhi

Best French-Language Film (Outside France)
Curling - Denis Côté (Canada)
Where Do We Go Now? - Nadine Labaki (France, Lebanon, Italy)
Incendies - Denis Villeneuve (Canada)
The Kid with a Bike - Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (Belgium, France, Italy)
Les géants by Bouli Lanners (Belgium, Luxembourg, France)

and A Very Special Mention for the Dog Actor in The Artist

The Académie des Lumières is proud to receive support from the Paris City Hall, the Centre National de la Cinématographie (CNC), TV5Monde, the Commission Supérieure Technique de l'Image et du Son (CST), the Société de Développement des Entreprises Culturelles (SODEC), and the Syndicat Français de la Critique de Cinéma (SFCC).

Académie des Lumières
President: Marie-Roger Biloa
General Secretary: Michela Secci


Author : Communications

Latest update : 10 September 2012 à 16:23 CEST


Linked to this news article

Linked films (5)

Linked individuals (29)